Oklahoma State Electric Bike Laws

Oklahoma State Electric Bike Laws, Definition & Legal Operation

Definition of Electric Bike:

The state of Oklahoma (OK) defines electric bikes as a bicycle that has two or three fully functional pedals equipped with a motor that does not exceed 1000W and is designed with a maximum speed of 30mph and is incapable of further the speed more than 30mph with human power assist.

Licensing and Registration:

The state of Oklahoma requires that electric bike riders be at least 16 years old and posses any class of license. A motorcycle license is not required. Registration is not required.

Helmet Law:

Helmets are required for all riders under the age of 18.

Where to Ride:

Electric bicycles are permitted to go where traditional bikes are allowed.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area. Source: Oklahoma Department of Motor Vehicles Oklahoma Bicycle Society Wondering where to go next?