Florida State Electric Bike Laws
Florida State Electric Bike Laws, Definition & Legal Operation
Definition of Electric Bike:
The state of Florida (FL) classifies electric bikes as “Electric Helper-Motor Bicycles.” Electric bikes must be a combination of human power and electric helper-motor and must not exceed 20mph.
Licensing and Registration:
Electric bikes do not need to be licensed or registered. Operators of electric bikes must be at least 16 years old.
Florida state law requires persons under the age of 16 to wear a helmet.
Where to Ride:
Electric bikes are allowed on roadways in the right lane, bike paths and trails and on sidewalks where pedestrians are present.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.
Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Wondering where to go next?