ebike-laws

How does Wyoming define what an electric bike is?

The state of Wyoming (WY) defines electric bikes as a vehicle equipped with two or three wheels, foot pedals to permit muscular propulsion by human power, a motor not to exceed 500w and designed to not exceed 30mph on level surfaces.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Wyoming?

The state of Wyoming does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.

What are the laws around helmets in Wyoming?

Helmets are required for bike riders under 18 years old.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Wyoming?

Electric bikes are allowed on all roadways as far right as practicable except when making a left turn. Electric bikes are allowed on bike paths and trails. Electric bikes are not permitted on National Park Paths.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area. Electric bikes are prohibited on sidewalks.

Source:

State of Wyoming Legislature 

How does Wisconsin define what an electric bike is?

The state of Wisconsin (WI) defines electric bikes as a bicycle with a motor attached. It must have pedals that are operational, an electric motor that is less than 750w and have a maximum speed of 20mph on level ground.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Wisconsin?

The state of Wisconsin does not require registration. Riders must possess a valid driver’s license, operators license or instructional permit.

What are the laws around helmets in Wisconsin?

Helmets are not required for riders.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Wisconsin?

Electric bicycles are permitted on all roadways and roadway bike lanes. Electric bikes are allowed on bike paths and shared-use paths only when the motor is not in use (must be propelled by human power only). Electric bikes are not permitted on any sidewalks.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.

Source:

City of Madison Traffic Engineering
Wisconsin Department of Transportation

How does West Virginia define what an electric bike is?

The state of West Virginia (WV) does not legally define electric bikes.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in West Virginia?

The state of West Virginia does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.

What are the laws around helmets in West Virginia?

Helmets are not required for riders bicycle riders.

What are the rules for riding on the road in West Virginia?

Electric bicycles should be treated as traditional bikes in West Virginia and are allowed on roadways as far right as practical except when making a left turn.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.

Source:

West Virginia Department of Transportation

How does Washington define what an electric bike is?

The state of Washington (WA) defines electric bicycles as “electric-assisted bicycles.” The electric bike must have two or three fully operational pedals for human propulsion and the electric motor must be no more than 750 W. Electric bicycles are classified as Class 1, Class 2, or Class 3 as defined below:

  • Class 1 electric-assisted bicycle means an electric-assisted bicycle in which the motor provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of twenty miles per hour.
  • Class 2 electric-assisted bicycle means an electric-assisted bicycle in which the motor may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and is not capable of providing assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of twenty miles per hour.
  • Finally, Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle means an electric-assisted bicycle in which the motor provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of twenty-eight miles per hour and is equipped with a speedometer.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Washington?

The state of Washington does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.

What are the laws around helmets in Washington?

Helmets are required for riders under 16 years of age.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Washington?

Electric bicycles are allowed on roadways and limited access highways, bike lanes, bike paths, and multipurpose paths. Local jurisdictions are allowed to modify these and restrict use when necessary. While Class 1 and Class 2 electric-assisted bicycles are not explicitly prohibited from riding on sidewalks, it is unlawful to ride a Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle on a sidewalk unless there is no alternative.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.

Source:

Washington Bikes
Washington State Legislature 

How does Virginia define what an electric bike is?

The state of Virginia (VA) defines electric bikes as a bicycle with a helper motor of no more than 750w and designed to travel no faster than 25mph on level ground. Riders must be at least 14 years of age

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Virginia?

The state of Virginia does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.

What are the laws around helmets in Virginia?

Helmets are required for bike riders under 16 years old.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Virginia?

Electric bikes are allowed on all roadways with a posted speed limit of less than 25mph and on bike paths when yielding to pedestrian traffic.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area. Electric bikes are prohibited on sidewalks.

Source:

Virginia Department of Transportation
Virginia State Legislature 

How does Vermont define what an electric bike is?

The state of Vermont (VT) does not legally define electric bikes.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Vermont?

The state of Vermont does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.

What are the laws around helmets in Vermont?

Helmets are required for bike riders under 16 years old.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Vermont?

Electric bikes are not defined in Vermont and should be ridden in accordance with traditional bicycle laws. Bikes may be ridden on roadways, bike lanes and bike paths. Bicycles may not be ridden on sidewalks, interstates and turnpikes.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area. Electric bikes are prohibited on sidewalks.

Source:

Vermont Bike and Pedestrian 

How does Utah define what an electric bike is?

The state of Utah (UT) defines electric bikes as a bicycle propelled by human power with pedals or cranks, a seat for the operator and equipped with a helper motor.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Utah?

The state of Utah does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.

What are the laws around helmets in Utah?

Helmets are required for bike riders under 18 years old.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Utah?

Electric bikes are allowed on all roadways as far right as practicable except when making a left turn. Electric bikes are allowed on bike paths and trails unless posted otherwise.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area. Electric bikes are prohibited on sidewalks.

Source:

Bike Utah
Utah Public Safety 

1 2 3 8 Next »

Recent Blog Posts